Skip to main navigation.


ScholarshipsPhoto of three graduates in cap & gown

Beltrami Electric Cooperative and its board of directors are pleased to able to award scholarships annually to deserving students attending seven area high schools in our service area.  The schools included in this program include Bemidji High School, Blackduck High School, Laporte High School, Cass Lake-Bena High School, Kelliher High School, Red Lake High School and Walker-Hackensack-Akeley High School.

For years, Beltrami Electric Cooperative has been able to fund college scholarships with unclaimed capital credit dollars.  Following Minnesota state laws for unclaimed property, we publish the unclaimed capital credits list on our website and in our newsletter in an attempt to find the rightful owner of the money. We continue to publish and carry unclaimed capital credit amounts on our books for 7 years.  If, after 7 years, we still have not located the owner, the law requires us to either turn the money over to the state, or donate it, so your cooperative funds scholarships. 

To be eligible, students' parents or guardian must be a member of Beltrami Electric Cooperative, the student must attend a high school within BEC's service area and be a senior in high school. The students must send proof of enrollment in a post secondary education institution the following year and completion of one semester to the high school where the scholarship was awarded.

The scholarships for 2017 are $1,500 each.  Ask your school's guidance counselor or scholarship coordinator what is required at your school.

*Applications for these scholarships will be available now and are handled through the guidance office/scholarship committee at participating high schools. Please contact your school's guidance counselor or scholarship committee for more information. Each individual school handles the application/selection process. 


Minnesota Cooperative Education Foundation offers scholarships to those interested in a career at a Cooperative. Click here for more information.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo